She Likes It

Well, I finished knitting the pet bed for my little Cairn Terrier, Gidget.  The pattern was for a felted bowl, I used a bulky wool yarn and worked more increase rounds to make it bigger.

Gidget's Knitted Bed

Gidget's Knitted Bed

Guess what?!?  She likes it………just the way it is!  It doesn’t even have the ends woven in yet and hasn’t been felted.   As soon as I finished binding off, I set it down on the floor to see how big it looked.  Gidget came right over and sniffed it and then stretched out next to it and put her head on it to see if she was going to get in trouble.  When she didn’t get in trouble for putting her head on it she proceeded to put her whole self on it! 

She really does seem to like it just the way it is- I’ve picked it off the floor several times when she’s gone outside to potty and the minute she comes in she looks for it and I have to put it down again.  I do need to get the ends woven in but, now, I don’t know whether I should try to felt it or not.  She has already put a couple of snags in it with her claws so I’m thinking that perhaps I will just felt it a bit – just enough to get the wool fibers sticking together so they won’t snag.

I think I’d like it better if it was felted very firmly – it wouldn’t look so floppy and messy when it’s on the floor.  Hmm, I just wonder which way it will end up in the end???

This week I have been so unfocused.  I wanted to get a post done with lots of pictures of the Taos Wool Festival but I took so many pictures I can’t even decide which ones I want to edit and put in a post.  On Friday, I have a summons to Jury Duty and I’m really not looking forward to that.  I’ve reported for Jury Duty several times and it involves many hours of sitting around while people are interviewed and a jury is selected.  Today, I tried to think of a simple, small knitting project I could start and then bring in a little bag in my purse to work on – I’m not even sure if you are allowed to knit.  I could see where it wouldn’t be a good thing during a trial but it shouldn’t hurt to knit during all that endless interviewing of prospective jurors.  Time will tell.

You can click on the picture for a larger view.

4 Responses

  1. How cute. Your little baby is so sweet. I love the name, Gidget! I remember the movies and TV series….lol. Telling my age, huh?

    I’ve been working on socks and more socks. I just love knitting!!!!

    Have a great weekend,
    Marilyn

  2. oh I bet you can have knitting at jury selection – make sure you needles are bamboo. I got my fork taken away at the sheriff’s office the other day. Can’t wait to hear about the festival!

  3. Man is she a cute little thing. She reminds me of my little chinese crested powderpuff. Same size, color and similar looks. I’m such a sucker for these kinds of dogs. It’s so funny that she likes it now. She’s not cold is she? Maybe you need to knit her up a little sweater. That would be a cute small project for your jury duty.

  4. Hi Sammie, I love the bed for your little Gidget! She is so cute! I have a 110 pound German Shepherd named Crash. She picked her name. She was very clumsy as a puppy and I guess that I said she crashed into things so much the name just stuck! She wouldn’t answer to the name we really wanted to give her. I love her lots but she is so big! Someday I would like a little dog like your Gidget.

    I’ve been knitting a lot of little projects lately. A little scarf for my niece, hats and slippers. I like them because they are small and finish so easily. After I finished the Mirth shawl I was just so inspired to try all kinds of new patterns.

Leave a Reply

