Finished With Mirth

The title sounds like I’m finished with being happy – but, actually, I’m very happy that I’m finished with my Mirth Fitted Raglan Shawl!!  In this previous post – On-Line Knitting Class – I talked about taking the on-line class given by Stefanie Japel for the Mirth Shawl she designed.  The class lasted for three weeks and I managed to get the shawl all finished during that three weeks.  It was really a good class, Stefanie is an inspiring teacher and I learned a LOT about knitting lace from charts.  I really like how the shawl turned out.

Completed Mirth Shawl

Completed Mirth Shawl

There was one minor glitch that almost made me unable to get the shawl finished during the three weeks of the class.  I ran out of yarn and had to order another skein.  Instead of sending worsted weight, the store sent me DK weight in the same colorway – so, I had to call and ask them to resend the worsted weight.  That meant there were four days with no knitting on the shawl – when the correct yarn arrived I really had to do some power knitting to get finished before the class was over.  It wouldn’t have been a big deal if I hadn’t finished within the time frame of the class but it was one of those things I’d promised myself I’d do.  Usually, I’m such a procrastinator that I never finish anything on time.  With this shawl, I made a concentrated effort to keep up with the class and finish on time.  I’m so glad I did!

One nice thing about waiting for the yarn to arrive – I received my ball winder from Knit Picks and got to wind up the last skein with a ball winder!  The Knit Picks ball winder is nice – it is just like the Royal Ball Winder (checked them out in two yarn stores) except less expensive.

Ball Winder from Knit Picks

Ball Winder from Knit Picks

The most exciting part of the Mirth Shawl Class was meeting Stefanie Japel at the Taos Wool Festival!  We had a Shawl Class Reunion type thing during the Ravelry Meetup on Saturday at the Taos Wool Festival – it was great meeting Stefanie and her family and Paula, who also took the class and with whom I had a lot of fun chatting on-line during the class!  Here is a picture of Mary-Heather from Ravelry, Stefanie, Me and Paula.

Mary-Heather,Stefanie Japel, Me, Paula

Mary-Heather,Stefanie Japel, Me, Paula

You can click on any picture for a larger version.  Hopefully, in a few days I’ll write more about the Taos Wool Festival.  It was really fun and busy this year.

One Response

  1. Yay! You finished it, and it looks amazing, and you got to meet up with cool people! I look forward to hearing more about the Taos festival. I had considered coming down for that, but Claire came up here – we got a lot of knitting done. She made leg warmers and I made a hat (hopefully soon to be blogged).

Leave a Reply

